Piven Banned from Nobu

Apparently it’s not a good idea to tip your waiter with an Entourage DVD.

Entourage star Jeremy Piven has reportedly been banned from America’s Nobu restaurants after paying a waiter’s tip with a DVD.

The Old School star was dining at celebrity chef Nobu Matsuhisa’s restaurant in Aspen, Colorado during the recent US Comedy Arts Festival.

When the bill came, Piven paid up and left the waiter a copy of his Entourage DVD as a tip. The outraged server threw the DVD at the celebrity diner.

“He (Piven) came in with a large group of 12 or more without reservations and asked for a table,” told New York’s Daily News. “It was a very busy night, but a table, although cramped, was provided. On his way out, he made a nasty comment to the manager: ‘Thanks for nothing.”

The actor was later advised to steer clear of all Nobu restaurants.

But Piven is playing down the incident in Aspen: “I’m such a fan of Nobu and all of his restaurants. I had a great dinner at the Nobu in Aspen. As always, the meal was excellent and the service was great.” (Jewtastic)

Quite the tipper.

6 comments so far

  1. crcchristine on

    Sad…sad! We love the PIV!!!!

  2. cincodemayo1 on

    Yeah, the Piv is great. Expected a little more from him.

  3. mattgunn on

    Hahaha that is awesome… way to go Piven. If it was a full Season 3 DVD i’d be pumped to get it as a tip

  4. cincodemayo1 on

    Ditto…if I got an advanced copy of Season 3 I’d be quite happy. I need to add it the collection!

  5. uncutdiamond on

    I like Jeremy Piven alright, although I think he’s overrated and his show kinda sucks. Anyway, the waiter should have had a sense of humor about it. It seems unlikely that he wouldn’t have tipped him/her. Although if he didn’t that’s pretty bad arrogance. Kinda funny though.

  6. cincodemayo1 on

    From what I heard, he wasn’t tipped. But, if PIven indeed had a party of 12, then gratuity should’ve been added to the bill. That info is a bit sketchy, but if I didn’t get the tip I was due and instead handed a DVD, I probably would’ve thrown it back, too.


Comments are closed.