Free Rice

Free Rice

Wanna improve your vocabulary and help world hunger at the same time?

Head over to FreeRice.com. It’s technically a game but it’s much more than that…

FreeRice has two goals:

  1. Provide English vocabulary to everyone for free.
  2. Help end world hunger by providing rice to hungry people for free.

This is made possible by the sponsors who advertise on this site.

Whether you are CEO of a large corporation or a street child in a poor country, improving your vocabulary can improve your life. It is a great investment in yourself.

Perhaps even greater is the investment your donated rice makes in hungry human beings, enabling them to function and be productive. Somewhere in the world, a person is eating rice that you helped provide.

Still confused? All you do is pick which word from a list of 4 is the same as the word presented to you, and the advertisers who’s names appear at the bottom will donate rice.

Why doesn’t FreeRice just donate all this rice they have? Well technically, they don’t have it.

FreeRice is not sitting on a pile of rice―you are earning it 10 grains at a time. Here is how it works. When you play the game, advertisements appear on the bottom of your screen. The money generated by these advertisements is then used to buy the rice. So by playing, you generate the money that pays for the rice donated to hungry people.

The site launched on Oct. 7, where that day they gave away 830 grains of rice. Yesterday (Nov. 7) they gave away 188,987,290 grains. To date, the site has donated 1,519,627,180 grains of rice.

If you’re still not sure what’s going on, just go visit FreeRice. Play the word game and help feed those in need. I’ve even added a banner towards the bottom right of this site that you can click on in case you forget where to go.

Great find from NOTCOT.

11 comments so far

  1. restuwk on

    Good

  2. CuriousC on

    Incredible! I love it and will share this on my blog…

  3. Free Rice « Idea Jump! on

    […] I checked in on one of my faves included in my blogroll:  Will Work for Food, and one of the recent posts enlightens readers to check out […]

  4. Helen-Sauer Brown on

    The combination is outstanding! As my mind grows, the poor grow in health.
    Peace
    Herself

  5. Lyne Briere on

    I think it is a wonderful idea,This kind of activity relaxes me and it is helpful as well.It cannot get much better than this.

  6. sarah knight on

    I think free rice is a great idea its a time to finally help the hungery people who doesnt have the money to buy food so im glad my teacher mrs.lawerence told us about the website thats why I go to free rice so I can help poor hungery people so thank you all so much.

  7. sarah knight on

    I think free rice is a great idea its a time to finally help the hungery people who doesnt have the money to buy food so im glad my teacher mrs.lawerence told us about the website thats why I go to free rice.

  8. sarah knight on

    I go to free rice because its a terrific idea helping poor helples hungry people thanks for making this website and thanks mrs.lawerence for telling me about it. love yall

  9. sarah knight on

    I go to free rice because its a terrific idea helping poor helples hungry people thanks for making this website love yall.

  10. VSSRKRISHNAMRAJU.CHEKURI on

    EXCLENT

  11. VSSRKRISHNAMRAJU.CHEKURI on

    I THINK EXCLENT THIS IDEA,


Comments are closed.

