Strawberries in Balsamic Vinegar

Strawberries

What to do with an abundance of strawberries? Make strawberries with balsamic vinegar!

I know, it sounds odd. I thought so too. But I didn’t feel like making something that was time consuming, so I did this. I always wanted to try it and I’m glad I did. It’s easy to make, pretty healthy, and makes a great dessert.

I hear sprinkling with a little black pepper and topping it off with some vanilla ice cream is delicious.

Photo from Flickr.

Ingredients 

  • fresh strawberries (3/4-1lb or more)
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons poppy seed
  • sprinkle of black pepper (optional)
  • basil (optional)
  • vanilla ice cream (optional)

Directions

  1. Chop strawberries and place in a bowl. Toss in the sugar and mix to coat. Place in fridge for 30 minutes to an hour to cool.
  2. Add vinegar and poppy seeds. Mix and let stand for a bit to coat.
  3. At this point you can serve as is. I did. I ate it alone and it’s great. But if you’re tempted, add some chopped up basil or some black pepper. Or serve with ice cream.

6 comments so far

  1. Doug on

    Not odd at all – I was just telling someone about this. It is amazing – especially with a really good balsamic.

    Vanilla ice cream is the way to go – I’m sure you knew that.

  2. cincodemayo1 on

    Yeah, that’s what I hear. I actually had some on leftover Pinkberry last night. Not half bad, but I’m sure vanilla ice cream would’ve been delicious.

  3. […] and email inspired entry. While reading Will Work For Food, I saw his posting of what he did with some extra strawberries and hit him up with my mascarpone cheesecake […]

  4. satsumasalad on

    a lot of fruit taste great in salad with balsamic

    orange/mandarin
    nectarine/peach
    strawberry obviously

    It’s very difficult to give up nectarine in your green salad once you’ve had it. But only with balsamic

  5. satsumasalad on

    oh oh oh forgot pomegranate

  6. […] and email inspired entry. While reading Will Work For Food, I saw his posting of what he did with some extra strawberries and hit him up with my mascarpone cheesecake […]


Comments are closed.

