Power Proteins vs Popeyes

Fighters Eat

This Saturday night is not only Cinco de Mayo, and it’s not only my birthday, but it also has the potential to be one of the biggest and best fights in boxing history. We’ll have to wait and see.

But what do the fighters eat to prepare for their big fight?

DE LA HOYA

For the May 5 fight Oscar De La Hoya is adhering to a strict, complex-carbohydrate diet that gives him optimal, day-long energy. Administered by his conditioning guru Rob Garcia, who also serves as camp chef, De La Hoya ingests a combination of protein, organic and high grain carbohydrates, and a variety of vegetables and fruits to round out daily meals. He will alternate his daily proteins, selecting from his favorites: lamb, chicken and fish. He loves sea bass. Adding to the meal is organic brown rice, vegetables or another favorite spinach salad. For fluids, it’s juices, pineapple or grapefruit, and sometimes a glass of rice milk.

“After the Mayorga fight, I stayed on the healthy plan of life and it made a big difference in keeping my weight down and staying in shape,” said De La Hoya. “I feel the difference while training when I am sticking to the plan and giving myself the fuel I need to recover from the daily grind of training camp. I can’t say I don’t miss my wife’s cooking, as she makes great Puerto Rican food, but it’s a sacrifice worth making to get what I need to win the fight. “

“Oscar has responded really well to the meal plan,” said Garcia. “He comes down the hill to the condo and eats his meals with us. The energy the diet is giving him makes him extremely explosive when he’s training at full speed. It’s great to see him in such fantastic shape and don’t look for him to be tired on May 5 th. He’ll be ready to fight in to the later rounds if he doesn’t stop him early.”

MAYWEATHER

For Floyd Mayweather, there is no room for the word “diet” or “strict” in his training schedule. “I eat what I want and I always have energy,” said Mayweather. “I have a cook who knows what I like to eat and she varies the menu based on what I tell her to make after I come home from the gym.”

Mayweather stays healthy with a balanced three meals-a-day schedule. Among his favorites are turkey bacon, chicken, potatoes and a variety of vegetables. Although it’s good to have a cook, Mayweather also admits he doesn’t shy away from his favorite “bad” foods either which include: Popeye’s Chicken, pizza and his favorite vice—good ole fashion candy.

“I can go to camp and I’m still gonna drink soda, I’m still gonna eat cookies, I’m still gonna eat pizza and I eat lots of candy, licorice, lots of licorice. There ain’t nothing about me fake. I’m still gonna train hard. This ain’t Rocky; this is real life.”

Read more about the fight on Eastside Boxing.

