Roshambo Winery

Roshambo

So wine is very new to me (which you may have figured out by reading some of the more recent posts) and I’m still getting used to the taste and acquainted to what I like (I believe my favorite at the moment is Merlot).

After drinking what probably equals an entire bottle the other night, I have experienced the wine hangover and I’m not looking forward to my next one. But that won’t stop me from trying more wines and getting used to the taste.

With that in mind, I came across the Roshambo Winery today, and this seems right up my alley. According to their site…

You don’t need to know how to cook a steak to eat and enjoy it. You don’t need to know the difference between acrylics and oils to buy a piece of art. No one says you’ve got to understand the manufacturing process of shampoo to choose one bottle over the other. And you don’t need to speak an esoteric language just to explain how much you like your spiffy new car.

So why are we pressured into understanding malolactic fermentation, the difference between a Bordeaux and a Meritage, the art of barrel aging, and the taste of slate in order to have a glass of wine?

And the wine industry wonders why more people don’t “get” wine.

Case in point, Roshambo is a winery dedicated to the idea that wine should be more fun, more delicious, more Roshambo!

How to taste wine the rock-paper-scissors way:
1.
Pick a glass, any glass will do. (A five cent jelly-jar works just as well as a $20 piece of Austrian crystal.)
2. Unscrew the top and pour a glass. (Yes, I said unscrew.)
3. Drink some and decide if you like it or not.

With that kind of attitude, I’m definitely a fan. And in case you haven’t figured it out yet, “Roshambo” is the game rock, paper, scissors.

After perusing their website (which has a lot of fun info about the company on it) I noticed that they have a really good deal going on at the moment. To get this deal, you need to be a member of one of their 4 wine clubs (which might even be free to join, but I’m not 100% on that…got a little confused by the verbiage and the cool club names).

Once a member, you can then take advantage of this deal; a one time shipment of 6 of Roshambo’s top wines, including Rockpaperscissors White, Rockpaperscissors Red, Sauvignon Blanc “The obvious,” Chardonnay “Imago,” Rhone Red Blend “Orphan” and Syrah “Justice”.

Furthermore, if you are a member, you can take advantage of their member benefits which include opportunities to hang out with us on the Roshambus and priority ticket access to our annual events such as our Pirate Prom, and our legendary Rock Paper Scissors Tourney.

Any company that has a Pirate Prom and Roshambus is cool in my book.

1 comment so far

  1. […] Will Work For Food is a food and wine and design blog that recently featured your beloved Roshambo.  The blogger, a brand new convert to wine, stumbled upon our website and seems to be quite smitten. Though he hasn’t tasted the wines yet, we are pretty sure that once he does he’ll be hooked for life. Because we have never just been about slick packaging. We know that we have to appeal to your senses as much as your spirit. With that in mind, I’d again like to direct you to this link where you can BUY OUR FANTABULOUS WINE!!! […]


Comments are closed.

