Grilled Vegetable Antipasti

Grilled Veggies

A pizza joint near my office has this lunch special yesterday that isn’t something I typically order. I’m not really a vegetable kinda guy, but the special mentioned prociutto, salami and gorgonzola cheese, so I was in. It actually was good. Really good. I finished the entire plate and I ate veggies that I can’t remember ever eating before.

I’m not exactly sure how they made this but here’s Food Network’s recipe (the photo is from there, too, although it doesn’t resemble the recipe) for balsamic grilled veggies with my added ingredients, that probably comes close.

Ingredients

  • 1 medium yellow squash, sliced on bias
  • 1 medium zucchini, sliced on bias
  • 5 asparagus
  • 1 medium eggplant, sliced into 1/2-inch thick circles
  • 1 red onion, sliced in 1/2-inch thick circles
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 5 thin carrots (length wise, orange and yellow)
  • a lump of prosciutto and salami
  • a wedge of gorgonzola cheese
  • grilled fresh bread
  • Kosher salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

Directions

  1. Prepare all vegetables.
  2. Place vegetables in a bowl and season vegetables generously with salt and pepper, and toss with the olive oil and balsamic vinegar.
  3. Place vegetables, cut side down, on the hot grill and cook for a couple minutes on each side, or until tender and nicely marked by the grill. Place sliced bread on outer edges, just enough to char the surface.
  4. Remove from grill and toss with an additional 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.
  5. Place veggies on platter and arrange with meat, cheese and bread.
