Quick Irish Bread

Irish Bread

If it wasn’t for Phil’s comment on the Guinness Brownies, I would have never discovered his blog Movable Feast which means I would have never discovered his simple, quick recipe for Irish Bread. I’m not sure if mine was perfect, but it looked good. It had the consistency of a scone, but it was sweet and a bit crumbly. Would’ve been great with some orange marmalade or a slab of butter. Here’s an altered version of his recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon of sugar
  • 1/3 teaspoons of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1.5 tablespoons of cold butter (diced in small pieces)
  • 3 tablespoons of sour cream
  • 1/2 egg
  • 1 tablespoon of milk
  • 1/4 cups of water (or less, depending on doughiness)

Directions

  1. Take the flour, sugar, salt and baking powder and sift them together in a bowl. Throw in the butter with these ingredients and combine it by rubbing the butter inthe powdery mixture between your thumb, index finger, and middle finger. The motion is like you’re feeling the texture of a fiber. After a few minutes the butter will all but “disappear” into the powdery mixture and the contents of the bowl will look sandy.
  2. Next, add the sour cream and mix it in – I like to do this with a fork. Then, combine the half egg and milk, and add them to the mixture. Kneed the ingredients together just until all the ingredients are combined (and no longer).
  3. Form your lovely loaf into a sphere and then push it flat. Slash an “X” across the top of your loaf. Then put it on a wax paper lined-baking tray and into an over preheated at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 30-35 minutes. By now, your bread should be nice and golden on the outside. Wait for it to cool, but not too much ’cause we all love warm bread, and then serve with herb butter or just regular butter.

Basically, I didn’t follow Phil’s directions all the way (don’t kill me Phil). I pretty much combined all the ingredients rather than sifting, and I melted the butter. At the very end of combining all the ingredients, the dough didn’t feel doughy at all. It just broke apart. So little by little I added some of that 1/4 cups of water, kneaded it together, and added a bit more til doughy. Then I coated the outside in a bit more of flour just before putting it in the over.

It really took no time at all and would make a great addition to any breakfast!

If you attempt to make this, try it Phil’s way (minus the water) and let me know if it comes out more bread-like than scone-like.

4 comments so far

  1. moveablefeast on

    Hey there! Glad to see you gave my recipe a try. It’s strange about the crumbliness of the dough. I wonder if it had to do with the brand of flour we used. How long did you kneed the dough for? Either way, thanks for your input and for offering an alternate version of the recipe!

  2. cincodemayo1 on

    Well I kept attempting to knead the dough, probably a good 10 minutes or so, and I finally realized that it just wanted wet enough. Even as I mixed in the wet ingredients, the mix was very dry. That’s when I started adding just a bit of water at a time. The dough then got very “wet” on the outside, so the last step I did was to roll it in flour.

    But it was delicious! Definitely more scone like, but I’ll try it again soon and hopefully get it more like yours!

    Maybe I did the conversion wrong? Is 1 1/2 cups of flour right?

  3. RegiVizz on

    I used 1 1/3 cups of flour when I tried this recipe!

  4. cincodemayo1 on

    Hmmmm…maybe that’s my problem. I’ll give that a try! Thanks!


Comments are closed.

