Margaritas in Bulk

Margies

I saw this on Jeffrey Morgenthaler’s bartending blog and had to repost it.

Summer is the time when margaritas are consumed the most (there’s no research behind that but I’m sure of it) and why not bring a gallon of margies to your next party? Don’t want to do the math and figure out how much of what you’ll need? Just follow his recipe.

When I can’t find a gallon jug lying around, I just buy a gallon of distilled water from the grocery store for 88 cents and use the water to feed the plants.

  • 6 cups gold tequila (you’ll need two fifths for this)
  • 2.5 cups triple sec (just a fifth, please)
  • 2.5 cups fresh lime juice
  • 2.5 cups fresh lemon juice
  • 2 cups simple syrup

Mix ingredients together in gallon container. Don’t forget to refrigerate! When ready to serve, pour mixture into a 16-ounce glass filled with ice. Salted rim is optional.

Makes 21 margaritas.

Photo from Flickr.

2 comments so far

  1. Doug on

    seems simple enough – but only 21 margaritas? I’d have to be Paul Bunion to drink one of those.

  2. I :heart:: substance on

    I would strongly recommend something like the Cazadores Anejo for this drink.
    The smoother the tequila, the smoother the margarita!
    Bevmo link:
    http://www.bevmo.com


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

