Archive for February 16th, 2007|Daily archive page

Lox and a Schmear…

Fer Food got me craving lox and cream cheese, but as much as I like bagels, I prefer mine on some pumpernickel bread, minus the capers, plus some lemon.

Ingredients

  • cream cheese
  • lox
  • red onion (sliced, chopped or diced)
  • pumpernickel bread
  • lemon slices

Directions

  1. Prepare the bread. The easiest way to do this (especially if you’re making this as more of a snack) is to cut the bread into bite size squares, triangles or rounds.
  2. Next, chop up your lox.
  3. Dice the onion.
  4. Assemble on bread…schmear on the cream cheese (whipped is best), followed by some chopped up lox, some diced red onion, and a squeeze of lemon.
  5. Eat.

COMMENT!

Whadduya think? Will Work For Food has been up and running for about a week now, and it’s getting pretty close to 2,000 hits. Is that good? I have no idea. I’m new to this whole blogging thing. But this site is supposed to be interactive, so get active people! Comment on stuff you like, stuff you hate. Do I suck at this? Am I too good? Let me know!

I’ve even added some widget/link/button thingys towards the bottom of the sidebar. So if you prefer to get your update by e-mail or RSS feed go ahead and click the button. Also if you want to join Group Recipes, a sort of myspace for foodies, there’s a button for that too.

Stay tuned for more pictures, more widgets, more articles, reviews, design and food related goodness!

Mao’s Kitchen on Melrose

Finally! It’s opened! It’s been a long time a comin’. For the past few years I was working in Marina del Rey and then Venice, so I was always close enough to walk or drive to Mao’s. I had always heard both good and bad things about Mao’s, but I’ve always had a good experience and a great meal.

So now, a year later, I’m working in NoHo and living in Hollywood, neither of which are anywhere near MDR or Venice, which means I rarely make it out that way. But a few months ago I saw a huge mural on the side of a building on Melrose Ave. that said Mao’s. I didn’t believe it. At first I thought it was some form of Sheppard Fairy/Obey Giant propaganda art, but soon came a big neon sign.

I kept driving by to check the status, but the front always looked empty! Not a table in the window on Melrose! Weeks later I noticed a neon sign brightly lit up at night, but still the place was empty! I later found out that it’s not actually ON Melrose. Well the neon sign is, but you turn into the driveway and the entrance is on the side of the building, as is parking, which is EXTREMELY rare for Melrose.

As of today (er, as of about 3 weeks ago) Mao’s on Melrose is finally open for business. If you can choose to eat in or get delivery, eat in. Everything is hotter, crunchier and just plain better. But if you must settle for delivery, it’s perfectly good.

If you’ve never had it, do yourself a favor and try a few dishes I consider their best. First off, start with a Crispy Salad ($7). This is the most unique chicken salad I’ve ever had. It’s not your typical asian chicken salad, but the dressing combines with the jicama and pickled ginger adds so much flavor. Next, order up an order of Long-life Beans ($9). Their green beans braised with black bean sauce and they’re amazing! I’m not really a fan of veggies, especially green ones, but these things are really delicious. And addicting. Then move on to an order of the Salt & Pepper Seafood ($12). Shrimp and fish are lightly fried and seasoned with chili peppers and onions. My personal fave.

The great thing about Mao’s is that your food is made to order using only fresh ingredients. They don’t use anything in a can, no artificial coloring or MSG, so it’s truly some of the most natural chinese food you’ll find in LA.

OVERALL
Eating In: A
Delivery: B (negative points due to the lack of crispyness)

Mao’s Kitchen
7315 Melrose Ave.
LA, CA 90046
323.932.9681
www.maoskitchen.com

Drink and Fly

As long as you’re not flying the plane, stop by Vino Volo (derived from Italian for “wine flight”), a new wine bar popping up in airports around the country next time you have a layover. It’s tasting bar, a gift shop, a wine store and a small bites cafĂ© all rolled into one. So far, you can load up in Washington Dulles, Seattle-Tacoma and Sacramento, but Baltimore and JFK are coming soon, and more to follow throughout the year. Check out more specs via Springwise.

Cranberry Curry Chicken Salad

Curry Chicken Salad

A grocery store in Miami (Gardner’s Market) makes an amazing curry chicken salad…this is the closest I got to replicating it. So good.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 c mayo
  • 1/2 a lime
  • 3/4 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 small chopped sweet onion
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of sugar (or Splenda)
  • 2 c chopped chicken
  • 2 handfuls of dried cranberries
  • 1/4 c chopped walnuts

Directions

  1. Combine mayo, curry powder and lime juice. Mix well.
  2. Mix in the rest of the ingredients and stir and fold.
  3. Serve on a good flat bread (I used a fresh ciabatta from Trader Joe’s). Or just skip the bread and put spoonfuls on top of a fresh salad.
  4. Eat.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.